National Handfish Recovery Team (NHRT)


About Us

The National Handfish Recovery Team (NHRT) was formed in 2014 and coordinates the research program for the three species of handfish in Tasmania in accordance with the Recovery Plan for Three Handfish Species. 
The members of this team include relevant experience from Department of the Environment (Commonwealth), Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment (Tasmania), Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO; Commonwealth), Derwent Estuary Program, and the Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies (IMAS) at the University of Tasmania.
The current NHRT is comprised of:
Jemina Stuart-Smith (Chair, IMAS & CSIRO)
Holly Wiersma (Secretary, DPIPWE)
Inger Visby (DEP)
Tim Lynch (CSIRO)
Neville Barrett (IMAS)
Lesley Gidding-Reeve (Dept of the Environment; Commonwealth)
Mark Green (CSIRO)
Rachelle Hawkins (Seahorse World, Seahorse Australia)
Paul Hale (SEA LIFE, Melbourne)
Carolyn Hogg (Sydney University)
Michael Jacques (Marine Life Tassie)
Laura Smith (Marine Solutions)
Karen Richards (DPIPWE)
Rick Stuart-Smith (IMAS & RLS)
Sarah Cordell (Zoo & Aquarium Assoc of Australia)
Joe Valentine (Aquenal)
Lincoln Wong (CSIRO/UTAS PhD student)
Christine Coughanowr
Alex Hormann (CSIRO/IMAS student)
Tyson Bessell (IMAS PhD student)
Andrew Trotter (IMAS)
Contact the Handfish Conservation Project

Standard Post

Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies, University of Tasmania
IMAS Waterfront Building
20 Castray Esplanade,
Battery Point TASMANIA 7004

Contact Form

Contact Us

closearrow-circle-o-downalign-right linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram